Archive | Awards

ASF Announces 2016 Translation Prize Winners

The American-Scandinavian Foundation has announced the winners of its 37th annual Translation Competition for outstanding translations of poetry, fiction, drama or literary prose written by a Scandinavian author born after 1900. The 2016 winners are Barbara Sjoholm of Port Townsend, WA and Kara Billey Thordarson of Alberta, Canada.
Continue Reading

Batchelder Honor Award to The Lily Pond translated by Linda Schenck

The Batchelder Award (Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association) is given to the “most outstanding children’s book originally published in a language other than English in a country other than the United States, and subsequently translated into English for publication in the United States.” This year’s Honor Award goes to The Lily Pond, a sequel to A Faraway Island, by Swedish author Annika Thor.
Continue Reading